What Do You Support?

It’s intriguing, the way lessons are presented to me.  Like a jigsaw puzzle, without the picture, the latest lesson came in pieces.  I put the pieces together, waiting for the picture to be revealed.

This lesson began like the previous ones.  I was completely unaware of what I was about to encounter.  It began with the innocent act of looking for a financial document.  I went through numerous piles of papers, drawers filled to the brim and a file cabinet.  I laughed as I found things that were decades old.  Among the many papers I squirreled away, I found a final exam and class notes from 1985, unopened Christmas cards from 2007 and a list of reservation codes from a previous job.  I trashed the outdated and obsolete items.  I kept important documents, product brochures, and miscellaneous items.  You know, those “just in case” type of things.  One of the “just in case” documents was the list of reservation codes.  These codes might come in handy, if I ever interview for a travel agent position.  It was during a trip to fill the recycle bin when I heard the Voice.

Voice:  Why are you keeping those reservation codes?

Me:  In case I end up interviewing for a travel agent position.

Voice:  You want to be a travel agent?

Me:  I like the travel industry.  I wouldn’t mind doing it again if I could work as an outside agent but I don’t want to be an employee of a company.

Voice:  You’ve never listed travel agent as a desire or dream job.  Keeping that sheet “just in case” does not support what you really want to manifest in your life.  The act of holding on “just in case” symbolizes that you don’t believe, have faith in, accept that you can attain your dream job.  As long as this is true, your dreams will not manifest.  Remember what you accept you express.  It’s better to keep and surround yourself with items that support your dreams and desires not items that support your doubts and fears.

I had no response.  An article came to my mind that I read many years ago.  It referred to the biblical story of the manna from heaven.  The article used the story as a metaphor for faith and prosperity.  It alleged that when you hoard or hold on to something “just in case” you may need it in the future, you are demonstrating that you don’t believe, have faith, that your needs will be met.  You don’t give the Universe (God) the opportunity to provide for you.  I was affected by the article.  I give away something old whenever I buy something new.  I try not to hold on to scraps of this, that or the other.  I try not to stockpile groceries or household items.  I realized, I have exercised faith in regards to material needs, things.  My faith wasn’t so strong when it came to the intangibles in life.  As much as I have dreamed and desired, I didn’t really believe I could manifest them.  Now, I have a new way to identify what I believe and consequently demonstrate in my life.

I went to the file cabinet, grabbed the sheet of paper and promptly dropped it in the recycle bin.  I scanned my memory to see if there was anything else I needed to discard.  I had a new litmus test; does this support what I want to manifest in my life.  After a couple of days, I expanded my examination to my emotions, thoughts and actions.  I became self-conscious as I began to pay attention to what I was feeling, thinking and doing.  Does this support me in having what I want in my life?  I applied the test to relationships and affiliations.  Do they support me in attaining what I want in my life?  It’s been interesting to look at things from this new perspective.

Last weekend, I attended a 5Rhythms™ workshop.  My habit is to dance around the perimeter of the floor.  It’s my comfort zone.  I know this habit is an outward expression of how I felt growing up.  I felt like an outsider.  I subconsciously concluded that my place was on the outside.  That belief has influenced my dance with life.  Sometimes, I’ll dance in the midst of the others.  This workshop, I brought my new awareness on support.   I had greater clarity.  Of course, my comfort zone is on the perimeter.  I made it my home a long time ago.   Dancing along the perimeter gives me more control over the amount of contact I have with others.  I have a better field of vision.  I can see more of what’s going on then I can when I’m part of the crowd.  Those things are fine when necessary but it doesn’t require that I spend all of my time on the outskirts.  My hanging out on the edge reinforces my belief that I’m not part of the crowd.  This is the belief I have danced in life.

I asked myself if dancing on the perimeter supports what I want in my life?  Do I want to continue the dance of the outsider?  The answers were no.  I needed to change my dance.  I entered the throng of dancers.  We danced around each other.  We released space and acquired space as we danced around the floor.  I realized that being in the midst of others was neither awkward nor uncomfortable.  There was space for me.  I felt like I belonged and was welcomed.  We moved like a school of fish.  There was a perfect flow and harmony to our movements.  There was room for everyone.  I knew I could dance to the outside whenever I had the desire.

I haven’t found the financial document but I have a new dance.  It’s a dance that expands my sense of freedom, inner strength, empowerment and range of motion.  I now dance a dance of connection and inclusion.  It’s the dance that supports what I want for myself and in my life.

About Michele

I describe myself as an "Intuitive Medium." I possess a heightened level of extra-sensory perceptive skills and I am able to communicate with "unseen" energies of consciousness. I have faced many challenges but I have been able to use these skills as tools to help me learn and grow. I think of conscious awareness as the “pause” between heartbeats. It’s a split second opportunity to be in control, to think and decide what is the appropriate response in any situation. This blog is a chronicle of my journey to living a more consciously aware, thoughtful, life.

Posted on April 8, 2012, in Personal Growth & Development, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you dear Michele, for confirming the process of letting go I am going through now.
    As I pack up and give away most of all my belongings from my life up till this point, it is bittersweet, and also enormously freeing. I believe the Universe has created this situation as a test for me to prove my faith lies not in my past but in my future, standing before me with open arms. As in “The Alchemist,” I am selling my sheep which will enable me to take the journey of my life into the desert to find my treasure. Thank you for this confirmation!! Blessings dear one…

    • Dearest Colleen,
      Releasing the past can be bittersweet but letting go in order to support where we want to be seems to help loosen our grip. At least, it has helped me to loosen my grip. Darn those Cancerian claws! I wish you all the best as you continue your journey.
      Love you!

